Origamic Architecture

I recently became interested in origamic architecture after seeing some amazing work being sold as cards at The Rocks markets. So like most things I admire, I went online and tried to find out how to do it.

I started off with these basic exercises, then went on to some actual architecture on New Year Monday:

This is the one that I made – a kind of villa. It actually didn’t take much time to do! I was watching Friends with SM and the time flew by.

 

This is the one that SM made – a cargo ship from the front view.

All pattern designs were from this site: http://baudandbui.free.fr/plier/origamic1.shtml

Origamic architecture is really easy for anyone who is interested:

  1. Print pattern – I just used normal paper, but cardstock would be better.
  2. Using a blade/exacto knife and metal ruler – cut all the full lines (not dashed etc).
  3. Fold the dashed lines – figure out whether to valley fold or mountain (?) fold based on the picture.

I’ll be looking for more design patterns to experiment on soon!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

